A Journey from Six Words to Bestseller

In 2007, Smith Magazine challenged its readers to sum up their lives in six words. I penned “My reach always exceeds my grasp” as my six word memoir and submitted my entry.

A year later and after receiving several thousand submissions, the magazine chose a few hundred to be included in a new book. My six word story was chosen and found a place in the book “Not Quite What I Was Planning - Six Word Memoirs by Writers Famous and Obscure”. Released to great acclaim, joining narratives that resonated with readers worldwide and becoming a New York Times bestseller. My story is on page 51.

This unexpected journey taught me the power of brevity, concise storytelling and the beauty of embracing unforeseen opportunities. From a simple challenge to literary success. It serves as a reminder to appreciate the magic that can unfold in even the briefest of moments.

Ray Garraud @RayG