My Weekend Long Run

I ran 20 miles this weekend, (10 on Saturday and 10 on Sunday). My weekend long runs are mostly at an easy conversational pace. 80% of my runs are done at my easy pace, this is where I get the best aerobic adaptations and cardio vascular fitness. Once a week, I do some faster training for neuro muscular adaptations etc. That’s my 20%.

Every runner’s easy pace and training plan will be different based their level of experience and fitness level. if you’re new to running, find out what works best for you by getting a coach, personal trainer or qualified professional to assist you. if you decide to run on your own, do your reasearch and pay careful attention to how your body is responding to your training.

I’ve been running consistently for about 7 years, during that time, I’ve participated 5 full marathons (26.2 miles) 15 Half marathons among many shorter races. The most important thing I’ve learned during this time is that running is a journey. There’s no instant gratification, it’s an arduous process that will benefit as well as reward you greatly, in the long term.

Ray Garraud @RayG